The Award

  • Work of fiction suitable for KS3 pupils
  • Books first published in paperback in the U.K. (and books previously published abroad and published for the first time in paperback in the U.K.) during period 1st April 2022– 31st March 2023. Only the first title in a series will be eligible.
  • Final inclusion in shortlist is dependent on title being in print and available for purchase on 20th November 2023.
  • Is so enjoyable that the reader is passionate about it
  • Stands alone
  • Offers an emotional connection
  • Has believable characters
  • Has a satisfying ending.